REUs Archive: 2014

Research Experiences for Undergraduates at Emory University

Number Theory

2014 Research Experiences for Undergraduates at Emory University

Number Theory

Dates: June 9 - July 18, 2014

Math Building, Rooms E406 and E408


Basic Information

The PI has been organizing REU programs since 2003 (formerly at U. Wisconsin (Madison) from 2003-2009). He has advised over 100 students including 4 Morgan Prize Winners and 4 Schafer Prize winners. The REU alums have won numerous other honors including Marshall Scholarships, NSF Graduate Fellowships (over 30), etc... 

Thanks to the generous support of the National Science Foundation and Emory University, we are again organizing a summer Research Experience in Mathematics for the summer of 2014 on the beautiful campus of Emory University (adjacent to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)). We seek to fill 8-10 openings in the REU. Most of the participants will be US citizens or permanent residents who are presently enrolled in a US undergraduate institution or high school. We have offered openings to high school students who are adequately prepared for the program. NSF supported participants will receive a $3600 stipend and free accomodations.

2014 Project areas

  • Elliptic curves and Galois representations
  • Mock modular and quantum modular forms
  • Additive Number Theory
  • Distribution of Primes


  • Lea Beneish (Indiana University)
  • Lynn Chua (MIT)
  • Claire Frechette (Brown University)
  • Benjamin Gunby (MIT)
  • Hannah Larson (Harvard University): 2017 Schafer Prize Winner, 2024 Breakthrough Mizakhani New Frontiers Prize
  • Maddie Locus (University of Georgia)
  • Evan O'Dorney (Harvard University): 2016 Morgan Prize Runner-Up
  • Soohyun Park (MIT)
  • Alexander Smith (Princeton University)
  • Geoffrey Smith (Yale University)
  • David Yang (MIT): 2017 Morgan Prize Winner
  • Lynnelle Ye (Stanford, special participant)
  • Allen Yuan (Harvard University)

Their results