Roger Chevalier is the W. H. Vanderbilt Professor of Astronomy at the University of Virginia. After obtaining his Ph.D from Princeton University in 1973, he joined the scientific staff of Kitt Peak National Observatory in Tucson, Arizona.  He moved to the University of Virginia in 1979, where his research has centered on theoretical studies of rapidly expanding astronomical sources, including supernovae, supernova remnants, gamma-ray bursts, pulsar wind nebulae, and galactic superwinds.  His honors include the Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics (1996) and election to the National Academy of Sciences (1996).


  • NASA Public Service Group Achievement Award to Supernova Science Team (SN 1987A), 1989
  • Virginia's Outstanding Scientist Award, 1991    (Science Museum of Virginia)
  • Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics, 1996  (American Astronomical Society and American Institute of Physics)
  • Elected to National Academy of Sciences, 1996
  • Meeting "A Festival of Cosmic Explosions: Celebrating the Contributions and Accomplishments of Roger Chevalier" held August 21-23, 2009, Caltech, Pasadena, CA
  • Legacy Fellow, American Astronomical Society, 2020 (inaugural group of Fellows)


  • American Astronomical Society: High Energy Astrophysics Division Executive Committee (1985--86); Councilor (1988--91); Heineman Prize Committee (2001--03; Chair 2003)
  • Associated Universities for Research in Astronomy: Observatories Visiting Committee (1999--2002; Chair 2002)
  • National Science Foundation
    Committee on Large Optical/Infrared Telescopes (1985--86);
    Committee of Visitors, Division of Astronomical Sciences (1990, 1993);
    Advisory Committee, Division of Astronomical Sciences (1991--93)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration:
    Science Working Group on Supernova 1987A (1987--88)
  • National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council
    Committee on Space Astronomy and Astrophysics (1987--88); 
    Theory Panel of Astronomy Survey Committee for the 1990's (1989--90); 
    Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics (1997--2002); 
    Watson Prize Committee (2000); 
    U.S. National Committee for the International Astronomical Union (2003-2013; 
    Vice-Chair 2004--2007; Chair 2008--2010; Past-Chair 2011--2013); 
    Science Frontier Panel on Stars and Stellar Evolution, Astro2010 Astronomy Decadal Survey (Chair 2008--2010); 
    Henry Draper Medal Selection Committee (2012, 2020)