Lab Members

Current Lab Members


Clare Rodenberg, Ph.D. Student

Picture of Clare Rodenberg

After earning an M.S. degree in Geospatial Analysis from University of Mary Washington, Clare joined the lab Fall 2018. For her dissertation research, Clare is examining the effects of climate changes on the local population dynamics and spatial spread of gypsy moths.




Cate Porter, M.S. Student

Picture of Cate Porter

Cate graduated from Brown University in 2020 with a BS in Environmental Science. She is studying population dynamics of gypsy moths as impacted by forest connectivity and other environmental factors.




Former Lab Members


Melissa Hey

Picture of Melissa Hey

Melissa earned her PhD. in 2020. She investigated the implications of light pollution for ecosystem processes including spatial subsidies of nutrients via insect dispersal and decomposition.



Ariel Firebaugh

Picture of Ariel Firebaugh

Ariel graduated in 2018, earning a Ph.D. for her research on the impacts of light pollution on firefly populations and arthropod communities. You can learn more about Ariel's work here.

Current Position: Post Doctoral Teaching Fellow, Radford University.

Jonathan Walter

Picture of Jonathan Walter

Jonathan graduated in 2014, earning a Ph.D. for his work on the role of Allee effects in the invasive spread of gypsy moths.

Current Position: Nature Conservance NatureNet Science Fellow, University of Virginia (Advisor: Hank Shugart)

Andrew Allstadt

Picture of Andrew Allstadt

As a postdoc in the Haynes lab, Andy investigated the roles of climate change and temporal fluctuations in the spatial synchrony of weather in the population dynamics of forest-defoliating insects.

Current Position: Natural Resources Data Manager, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Rea Manderino

Picture of Rea Manderino

Rea earned an M.S. degree studying the combined impacts of forest defoliation by gypsy moths and suppression of gypsy moth outbreaks with the microbial agent Bacillus thuringiensis on the diversity and abundance of native forest moth.

Current Position: Ph.D. student, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (Advisor: Dylan Parry)


Undergraduates (Funding from NSF-REU program)


Madaris C. Serrano Perez, 2019, University of Puerto Rico at Humacao

Geoffrey Miller, 2018, Goshen College

Lauren Okafor, 2017, Howard University

Amoi Campbell, 2016, Howard University

Coral Bielecki, 2015, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Isabel Keddy-Hector, 2015, Bard College

Carolyn McDermott, 2014, Buena Vista University

Carmen Kraus, 2013, University of Georgia

Kristin Ocasio Rodriguez, 2012, University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon

Hilary Wayland, 2011, University of Virginia

Natalia Betancourt, 2010, University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon