UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATION 2001-2002

John T. Casteen III, President

Leonard W. Sandridge, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Gene D. Block, Vice President and Provost

R. Ariel Gomez, M.D., Interim Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies

William W. Harmon, Senior Vice President

R. Edward Howell, Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Center

Patricia M. Lampkin, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs

Robert E. Reynolds, M.D., Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Yoke San L. Reynolds, Vice President for Finance

Colette Sheehy, Vice President for Management and Budget

Robert D. Sweeney, Senior Vice President for Development and Public Affairs

Edward L. Ayers, Dean of the College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

David W. Breneman, Dean of the Curry School of Education

Robert M. Carey, M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine

Robert S. Harris, Dean of the Darden Graduate School of Business Administration

John C. Jeffries, Jr., Dean of the School of Law

B. Jeanette Lancaster, Dean of the School of Nursing

Richard W. Miksad, Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science

Sondra F. Stallard, Dean of the School of Continuing and Professional Studies

Karen Van Lengen, Dean of the School of Architecture

Carl P. Zeithaml, Dean of the McIntire School of Commerce

John A. Blackburn, Dean of Undergraduate Admission

H. E. "Penny" Rue, Dean of Students

M. Rick Turner, Dean of African-American Affairs

Karin Wittenborg, University Librarian

Steven H. Kaplan, Chancellor of the University of Virginia's College at Wise

THE RECTOR AND VISITORS

John P. Ackerly III, Richmond, Virginia, Rector

Thomas J. Bliley, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

William G. Crutchfield, Jr., Charlottesville, Virginia

Thomas F. Farrell II, Richmond, Virginia

Charles L. Glazer, Greenwich, Connecticut

William H. Goodwin, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

T. Keister Greer, Rocky Mount, Virginia

Elsie Goodwyn Holland, Richmond, Virginia

Mark J. Kington, Alexandria, Virginia

Don R. Pippin, Norton, Virginia

Gordon F. Rainey, Jr., Richmond, Virginia

Terence P. Ross, Alexandria, Virginia

Thomas A. Saunders III, New York, New York

Warren M. Thompson, Sterling, Virginia

Elizabeth A. Twohy, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Edwin Darracott Vaughan, Jr., M.D., New York, New York

H. Timothy Lovelace, Jr., Student Member, Roanoke, Virginia

Alexander G. Gilliam, Jr., Secretary to the Board of Visitors

FINANCIAL STAFF

Leonard W. Sandridge, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Yoke San L. Reynolds, Vice President for Finance

Colette Sheehy, Vice President for Management and Budget

Stephen A. Kimata, Assistant Vice President for Finance and University Comptroller

Alice W. Handy, University Treasurer

Internal Audit

Barbara J. Deily, Director of Audits

University of Virginia President's Report

Produced by the Office of University Publications and Development Communications P.O. Box 400807, Charlottesville, VA, 22904-4807. E-mail ws5a@virginia.edu

Copyright © 2002 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia Produced with private funds.

An online version of this report is available at www.virginia.edu/president/report02.

About the Cover:

The view of the northeast wing of the Rotunda is by Dean Dass, a professor in the University's McIntire Department of Art. A member of the studio art faculty since 1985, Professor Dass teaches drawing and printmaking. His work has appeared in numerous solo and group shows in this country and abroad, and his prints and paintings can be found in such collections as the Brooklyn Museum of Art, the National Collection of Poland in Krakow, and the Alvar Aalto Museum in Finland. A graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, he holds an MFA degree from the Tyler School of Art at Temple University in Philadelphia.

Photography by Rebecca Arrington, lan Bradshaw, lan Blubaugh, Jim Carpenter, Tom Cogill, Margaret Edwards, Pete Emerson, Stacey Evans, Daniel Grogan, Stephanie Gross, Peggy Harrison, Michael Higgins, Katherine Kayser, Robert Knudsen, Scott Neville, John Quale, Andrew Shurtleff, Jackson Smith, Audrey Snyder, Bill Sublette, Bob Swap, and courtesy of the Miller Center of Public Affairs and the John F. Kennedy Library.

Consistent with federal and state law, the University does not discriminate in any of its programs, procedures, or practices on the basis of age, color, disability, national or ethnic origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sex (including pregnancy), sexual orientation, or veteran status. The University operates equal opportunity and affirmative action programs for faculty, staff, and students, including discriminatory harassment policies and procedures. The University of Virginia is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer. The University's Section 504 and American Disabilities Act coordinator is Bradford K. Holland, University ombudsman (434-924-7819; bholland@virginia.edu). The Title X coordinator is Karen Holt, director of the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs (434-924-3200; kholt@virginia.edu). Both offices are in Washington Hall, East Range, P.O. Box 400219, Charlottesville, VA 22904.